Recruiting squadron announces Sentry Educator Award winners

  • Published
  • By Mark Wyatt
  • 66th Air Base Group Public Affairs

HANSCOM AIR FORCE BASE, Mass. -- The 319th Recruiting Squadron here has announced the winners of the inaugural Air and Space Forces’ Sentry Educator Award.

The Air and Space Forces’ Sentry Educator Award recognizes the top 10 educators, including counselors, teachers, coaches and principals, throughout New England.

“This award is our way of embracing our partners in academia and recognizing them for developing our nation’s future and embodying our shared values of Integrity, Service, and Excellence in all we do,” said Chief Master Sgt. Gervacio Maldonado, 319th Recruiting Squadron production superintendent.

Nominations included a short essay with a paragraph that showed how the nominee supports the Air Force Core Values.

“These educators are paving the way for a future where young learners can dream big, reach for the stars and make remarkable contributions to the world,” said Tech. Sgt. Kimberly Nagle, 319th Recruiting Squadron Marketing NCO in charge, who oversaw the Sentry Educator Award program. “We just wanted a way to celebrate them and show them how much we care.”

Squadron officials will present an Air Force Sentry trophy to the winners during presentations at their respective schools. 


Additionally, award winners will have the opportunity to be nominated for the Air Force’s Distinguished Educator Tour that provides educators with an opportunity to learn more about the Air and Space Forces.

Officials received 48 nominations this year.

The 319th Recruiting Squadron, headquartered at Hanscom AFB, covers 105 countries in Europe, Africa and the Middle East, as well as the six New England states. The squadron’s mission is to inspire, engage and recruit diverse applicants to serve as future Airmen and Guardians for the nation.

Congratulations to the following winners:

Tyler Boone: Brattleboro Union High School, Brattleboro, Vermont

Cyle Davenport: Deering High School, Portland, Maine

Dr. Erik Day: Coleytown Middle School, Westport, Connecticut

Harley Hall: Merrimack High School, Merrimack, New Hampshire

Rowena Harvey: Katahdin Middle/High School, Stacyville, Maine

Professor Jesse Johnson: Westfield State University, Westfield, Mass. 

Brian Moore: Contoocook Valley High School, Peterborough, N.H.

Alan Petty: Worcester High School, Worcester, Mass.

Elena Sileo: Torrington High School, Torrington, Conn.

Michael Vadney: Toll Gate High School, Warwick, Rhode Island

For further information about the 319th Recruiting Squadron or the Sentry Educator Award, contact Tech. Sgt. Kimberly Nagle at