HSC presents scholarships to dependents, spouses

  • Published
  • By Hanscom Spouses Club

HANSCOM AIR FORCE BASE, Mass. -- The Hanscom Spouses Club awarded scholarships to graduating seniors and military spouses during the 60th Annual HSC Scholarship Awards Ceremony at the Minuteman Commons on May 14.

HSC officers awarded $38,500 in total to 13 high school graduates and two spouses, each of whom will pursue degrees in the fall.

Catherine Oordt, who will attend the University of Texas at Austin as an Elementary Education major, received the AFA Paul Revere Chapter #178 Chief of Staff Award and $4,000 as the top academic achieving student.

Other students and spouses receiving scholarships include:

The Carmen Schipper Award, $2,000 – Nathan Young
The AFA Paul Revere Chapter #178 Brian Sweeney Memorial Award, $2,000 – Jillian Mauk
The AFA Paul Revere Chapter #178 Col. Chuck Jones Memorial Award, $2,000 – Jonathan King
The Daedalian Military Child Award, $2,500 – Sebastian Valdez-Sandoval
The Lt. Gen. Melvin F. Chubb, Jr. Award , $3,000 – Ian Keene

Additional recipients were Abigail Armijo, Maria Camardo, Ryan Doucette, Charity Garland, Alexander LaCourse, Daniel LaCourse, Jack Robinson, Jesada Sanders and Michael Sheehan.

Since 1961, the Hanscom Spouses Club has offered scholarships to military dependent children and spouses. The intent of these scholarships is to support graduating high school seniors and spouses of members of the U.S. Armed Forces.

The Hanscom Spouses Club raised more than $38,000 this year from the Minuteman Thrift Shop, Air Force Association Paul Revere Chapter #178, Oasis Systems and the Hanscom Federal Credit Union.

HSC officials said that without these contributions, and the work by its members through the Thrift Shop and scholarship committee, the scholarship program would not be possible.

Additional information about the Hanscom Spouses Club and their Scholarship Program can be found at www.hanscomsc.org.