MDS receives national accreditation

  • Published
  • By 66th Medical Squadron
HANSCOM AIR FORCE BASE, Mass. – Officials here recently announced that the Hanscom clinic has earned the Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval for Ambulatory Health Care Accreditation.

The 66th Medical Squadron received this distinction by demonstrating continuous compliance with nationally recognized standards.

“The 66th Medical Squadron is honored to receive the Gold Seal of Approval for Ambulatory Health Care Accreditation from the Joint Commission,” said Col. Russell Pinard, 66 MDS commander. “We are committed to providing the best care to every patient, every time.”

The Gold Seal of Approval is a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to providing safe and effective patient care, and to meeting optional standards demonstrating a commitment to patient-centered care.

The clinic also received the Primary Care Medical Home certification as a special add-on option for the Joint Commission-accredited ambulatory health care organizations.

The Hanscom clinic underwent a rigorous, on-site survey in late December. During the survey, the Joint Commission evaluated compliance related to a variety of areas, including credentialing, coordination of care, monitoring for procedures that involve use of sedation or anesthesia, infection prevention and control, management of medications and patient education and training.

The commission also evaluated the clinic’s compliance with standards related to how effectively the primary care clinician and the interdisciplinary team work in partnership with patients to provide comprehensive, coordinated and patient-centered care.

According to MDS officials, by pursuing the PCMH certification, the clinic is “demonstrating the highest commitment to delivering quality primary care in the ambulatory setting.”

The mission of the 66 MDS is to support past and present warfighters and their families through innovation, training and sustained quality care.

The clinic last received this distinction in 2016.

For further information on the Joint Commission, visit