HMS celebrates 2023 graduating students

  • Published
  • By Mark Wyatt
  • 66th Air Base Group Public Affairs

HANSCOM AIR FORCE BASE, Mass. – Hanscom Middle School staff recognized nearly 40 graduating eighth grade students during a ceremony in the school’s multipurpose space here June 20.

The in-person ceremony was the first held indoors since the COVID pandemic began in 2020.

“I feel really fortunate that we’re able to come together [inside] and celebrate this graduating class’s accomplishments,” said Erich Ledebuhr, HMS principal.

Prior to the presentation of diplomas, four students received awards for academic achievement.

Lincoln Educator’s Association: Randy Smith and Ayla Meiling Gonzalez

Lincoln Historical Society Award: Mckensi Galarza

Heddie Kent Literature Award: Elora Fennell

Col. Taona Enriquez, installation commander, provided remarks to the graduates.

“I would also like to express my deep appreciation to the teachers, staff, and parents who have guided and supported you throughout your middle school years,” she said. “They have equipped you with knowledge, inspired you to dream big, and instilled in you the values that will carry you through life.”

Enriquez encouraged the graduates to think differently.

“As you transition to high school, remember that the path ahead may be challenging at times, but do not be deterred,” she said. “Take risks, be courageous, and embrace failure as a steppingstone toward success.”

While many will attend high school locally, others will attend high school elsewhere.

“Throughout your time here, you have built long lasting friendships, participated in unique hands-on projects, expressed your creativity,” she said. “Remember all of the great times you have created while at Hanscom Air Force Base.”

Changing schools several times is not uncommon for military-connected students. 

“We know that our [military] students face a lot of challenges and a lot of transition,” said Ledebuhr. “Every now and then we give a longevity award to students who might have been here a little longer than others.” 

Ledebuhr presented Elora Fennell, Michael McDaniel and Kyra Omar longevity awards. Each student has been at Hanscom AFB since preschool.

Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Rebecca McFall, Lincoln, Massachusetts, and John MacLachlan, Lincoln School Committee chair, presented the graduates with their diplomas.

Congratulations to the following HMS graduates:

Valerie Agurcia, Bedford High School

Sophia Babington, Bedford High School 

Samantha Boglarski, permanently changing station 

Daniel Burger, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School   

Dean Concepcion, Bedford High School

Scout Correu, permanently changing station  

Samantha Dandridge, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School

Ariana DeJesus, Bedford High School

Tara Fait, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School   

Elora Fennell, permanently changing station   

Mckensi Galarza, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School

Isabella Goeke, Bedford High School

Ayla Gonzalez, Bedford High School

Avery Gregory, Bedford High School

Avery Howard, Arlington Catholic High School

Connor Howell, Bedford High School

Parker Jones, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School 

Blake Lewis, Bedford High School

Tyler Lewis II, Bedford High School

Michael McDaniel, Bedford High School     

Taj Moore, Bedford High School

Elizabeth Muller, Bedford High School 

Nathan Munoz, Bedford High School

Emilie Noble, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School

Kirin Noland, Bedford High School

Jameson O'Hearn, permanently changing station   

Kyra Omar, Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School

Brendan Orr, attending Bedford High School

Loreli Perez, attending Bedford High School

Norman Sanderson, attending Shawsheen Technical High School

Emily Smith, permanently changing station    

Randi Smith, attending Bedford High School

Alexus Stahly, attending Bedford High School

Christopher Tesch, attending Bedford High School

William Watson, attending Bedford High School

Savannah Weible, attending Bedford High School

Brayden Winston, attending Shawsheen Technical High School

Caspian Zumwalt, permanently changing station