AF seeks 2017 Sijan award nominations

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Alexx Pons
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
The Air Force is accepting nominations for the 2017 Lance P. Sijan U.S. Air Force Leadership Award.

The award recognizes the accomplishments of officers and enlisted leaders who demonstrate the highest qualities of leadership in the performance of their duties and conduct of their lives.

Sijan was an Air Force Academy graduate and combat pilot who was posthumously awarded the Medal of Honor for his intrepidity while evading capture by the North Vietnamese, and during his subsequent captivity as a Prisoner of War.

The award period is July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017. Organizations and base-level personnel should contact their respective major command, combatant command, field operating agency, direct reporting unit or MAJCOM/COCOM equivalent for applicable suspense dates and additional nomination procedures.

Each MAJCOM, COCOM, FOA and DRU may submit one individual in each of the following four categories:

-Senior officer (major through colonel)
-Junior officer (2nd lieutenant through captain)
-Senior enlisted (master sergeant through chief master sergeant)
-Junior enlisted (airman through technical sergeant)

All nominations are due to the Air Force Personnel Center no later than Aug. 31. Eligibility and application procedures are available on myPers. Select “any” from the dropdown menu and search “Sijan.”

For more information about Air Force personnel programs, go to myPers. Individuals who do not have a myPers account can request one by following these instructions.